You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, people live longer than they did in previous centuries because of modern medcine, and this has resulted in a significant increase of the elderly population. Some individuals think this development is beneficial to society, while others argue aginst it. Personally, I align with the perspective that it has more disadvantages than benefits.

Having an ageing population is a good indication that human’s efforts to live long and healthy life was a success. Consequently, people can now spend more time with loved ones, accomplish more goals in their life time, and share their experiences with the younger generation before they die. All these new abilities are important for the growth and prosperity of society and the world as a whole. For instance grandfathers are able to play and teach grandchildrens without the fear of dying and getting sick.

With that being said, if the growth of the ageing population is not supported by an equal or greater number of young people, countries will suffer from population collaps. This is because as the old generation retires and leaves the workforce, the young ones need to take their place to work in companies and generate income. Failure to do so will result in more elderly population than a country can support, causing economic stress or even crash. One example of this is Japan where the workforce is slowly decreasing because of the decline in child-birth, but there are a lot of elders with not support.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge the achivements of modern medcine and the imprtance of growing old, I contend that the rise of elderly population is net negative for society and countries in general.