You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Museums and historical locations are few of the top attractions for the tourists, which is not the same case for the native people. This is because, native dwellers living near the tourist place will become accustomed to their heritage, and over-time take such places for granted. Hence, in order to draw the attention of the natives, such places have to offer discounts on the entry charges to museums and also allow artists in the locality to showcase their projects in them.

People living in areas of historical significance will definitely be attracted to it, and also have knowledge about its importance. However, its only natural that, on the long run they become less enthusiastic and loose interest in it. This can also be because of their busy schedule. For instance, visiting a snow fall area is not as exciting to the locals who experience it every year, as it is to those who visit it rarely from non snowing areas. This is to say that, for native people it is not as unique as it is to visitors.

As a solution to this, such places can bring about changes that attract the local people as well. Changes like, giving discounts to local visitors visiting the museum and allowing budding local artists to display their art in the historical sites. For example, a local painter in the state of Karnataka was allowed to display his paintings in the ‘Tata memorial art gallery’ in Bangalore. This resulted in alluring the native folks in their interest of supporting their neighbour hood artist.

In conclusion, although many museums and places of historical value attract big tour group, they fail to do so among the native people. This is because of the busy lives of people leading them to take such places for granted. However, this can be overcome by offering localists discounts on entry prices and allowing them to show-case their talents in such places.