You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Is being exposed to more screen time making children of this generation less intelligent?

It is often argued that children are better off playing outside in nature than sitting indoors watching what some people consider “useless” television. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of television’s effect on children today.

Home theaters are an essential facility in almost every household. However, it is no secret that television has negative impacts on children’s mental and physical well-being. For example, when a child sits for long periods in front of the screen, it leads to reduced physical activity, resulting in obesity and fatigue. In addition, children are at risk of social isolation, poor communication skills, dysfunction, and awkwardness.

On the other hand, there are also benefits to having such a device. In other words, it provides access to a vast amount of knowledge at the press of a button. As an example, watching shows and films in other languages can help children learn a new language. Additionally, owning a TV provides endless entertainment and keeps children updated on global events such as the Olympics, the FIFA World Cup, and other international championships.

To sum up, television is a valuable invention for children. Nevertheless, screen time must be limited by parents to reduce its potential negative effects. In all cases, we should be moderate in using electronic devices in order to gain benefits without suffering the harm.