You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Ever since the internet was discovered, its use and popularity in the society has increased every day. This volume of popularity is threatening things like newspapers to extinct. I firmly agree with this statement because nowadays internet has become the core source of the news due to its moral and material benefits while it is getting harder to find physical newspapers in a store.

The internet provides us with almost unlimited source of information which is the main reason its popularity is increasing day by day. It is much easier to find and learn about what is going on in the world, using only the internet. This ease of access to any knowledge of any kind, made internet the major distributer of global and local news. For instance, someone living in Paris can learn what is going on in the other parts of Europe or the world in a matter of seconds just by doing a Google search. At past, one had to buy or subscribe to several different newspapers in order to learn about global news.

Currently, it is not easy to find a local convenience store that sells up-to-date newspapers as there is not enough demand. One of the reasons behind this low demand is its cost. The paper cost more than an internet search and, they have a limited lifetime unlike their digital versions. Additionally, the internet provides the exact same information, if not more detailed, with no need of going out of home or leaving work, which is the moral cost of buying a newspaper. For example, there is considerably large supermarket near my house which I occasionally visit to buy some groceries. I haven’t seen anyone buying anything from their newspaper section because it is more convenient and affordable to use pc or phone internet to read news at your home. As a result, the supermarket stopped their newspaper supply and planning to remove the section at all.

To sum up, rise of the internet significantly impacted the newspaper use which keep increasing day by day. The benefits that internet brings are not easy to overcome by the newspapers so its destiny to vanish is inevitable.