You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Following the digital boom in the early 2000s, information has since been far simplier to distribute. This revolutionised method of communication, causing the near obsolescence of traditional newspaper. In this era, I believe newspapers are getting increasingly outdated. However, it is still used in many cases.

Ensuing the popularisation of the internet, various novel medias such as blogging, forums and youtube emerge. These not only made information and news more accessible for everyone, but also propagate faster and wider. On the other hand, traditional newspapers are a much more slower and inconvienent due to its physical nature. This made younger generations choose to obtain news from the internet instead of newspapers. As a result, the demand for newspaper declined over the years.

However, newspaper remains the main news source for many places due to the digital divide. In many countries, not every citizen is privileged enough to own electronics capable of accessing the internet. This limited options causes people to buy newspapers. Additionally, we can argue that newspaper never disappeared but instead changed form. Major news sources such as SCMP all own online websites nowadays, so instead of printing articles onto papers, they are uploaded to the internet as an alternative. Finally, older generations might face challenges navigating around electronics, therefore resorting to more familiar newspapers.

All in all, I believe the population of newspaper has undeniably declined. Despite that, newspaper is still relevant among elderly people and many countries. Although it is not completely obsolete, is it very likely that it will be completely replaced in the future.