You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today’s world, there is too much competition in academics. Many children are under pressure to compete with each other. To think about it, many people believe removing non-curricular activities could help children focus on studies. This essay will talk about benefits of non-curricular activities.

Firstly, students who have a passion for other things like cooking or sports could also become successful. For example, the famous cricketer Mahendra Singh Dhoni dropped out of school to pursue his passion for cricket. Secondly, doing non-academic subjects could also help students have a break from studies. To give an example, students have breaks between studies to play games could give them motivation to study and can increase there sense to focus on their academics.

Furthermore, learning physical education and cooking can help students in the future if they wish to go abroad for studies because it is crucial for surviving. For example, students who are abroad and learned skills at school are cooking by themselves rather than buying food. Moreover, these activities can help students stay fit and improve their mental health. To cite and example, if a student keeps focusing on academics they may fall into depression and become introvert.

To conclude, non-academic subjects should be compulsory in school because it boosts students health and confidence. Also, it could help them in future for survival and pursue their passion.