You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

One school of thought holds that advancements in technology is bridging the gap between people, however, another are of the view that humans are getting separated by this. I strongly reckon that former notion is certain. In the following paragraphs, I will explain in detail both the statements with suitable and real-life examples to support my words.

To begin with, undoubtedly, technology has done wonders for our society. First and foremost, science has renovated the way we used to live, communicate, travel, etc. Moreover, we had steam rail engines back then, which were quite slow, expensive and vulnerable to breakdown. On the contrary, in today’s era, we have bullet trains running up to 300-400 mph. To cite an example, Japan and China has one of the fastest train in the globe, and they are catering to their citizens since 1980. Consequently, it takes less time to reach numerous places which ultimately has reduced the gap between loved ones. In addition to that, communication sector has surfaced new technology enabling their user to video call anywhere across the world unlike 20-30 years ago. All of these are achievable by modern technology.

However, everything has its own demerit too, in this case, the first disadvantage that comes to my mind is addiction to technology. To elaborate more, adults, and kids nowadays are stuck to their phones all the time. As a result, it is creating distance between them and their family, friends, and partners. For instance, one report published last week in The HT reveals that kids are of 13-19 age group are more vulnerable to spine and neck diseases due to continuous usage of their phones. Along with this, people are becoming lazy as they can get anything they want by a few taps on the screen.

To conclude, even though modern technology has some demerits, nonetheless, I strongly believe that advancement in technology is a Boon to the world has given a plethora of benefits.