Young people are much more aware of and concerned about issues like the environment, poverty, and animal welfare than previous generations. What is your own opinion?

In today’s society, younger generations are paying more attention to crucial issues such as environmental concerns, poverty and animal welfare compared to older generations. In my opinion, the reasons for this are related with the lifestyle and the opportunities of modern technology.

On the one hand, in today’s world, modern technology is involved in numerous sectors and one of them is social media. Nowadays, social media provides a lot of advantages especially serving trending news rapidly to the community. In the past, this role belonged to the traditional media agents such as televisions or paper based news. At this point, older generations struggled with being accustomed to new technological formats because they grew with traditional media methods. As a result of this difference, the younger generation is notably using social media faster than adults which enables them to learn trending issues before them.

On the other hand, older generations are in a flow that requires them to focus on their work and families rather than other issues. The problems in their working life, such as working on a job which needs to be completed in a short time period prevents them from being aware of trending problems in this heavy workload. Furthermore, the younger generation usually has lighter responsibilities which creates a suitable environment to be interested in other things. Consequently, the significantly heavier lifestyle of adults limits their leisure time which youth uses to keep up with news.

To sum up, I believe that youth is more aware of some issues related to nature and people who need help because of the advantages such as being more familiar with technology and having more time to keep up with these issues.