Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

Young generations nowadays always want to behave more maturely and pay a large amount of money for what they want to keep up their apperances. Although there are some advantages, I strongly believe that the disadvantages will outweigh them.

At the first glance, “peer pressure” can make young people every attempt to achieve the goal. Take, for example, all students in the class receive high score from the test and just one person have low score. Immediately, that student will try to achieve a higher score in the next exam. Moreover, it could help young generations to decide more prudently since every person around them will behave more maturely. As a result, they can learn new ways to perceive a problem.

In contrast, “peer pressure” can make young people addicted to drugs as they want to act like an adult. It is very dangerous that they cannot control themselves in front of some stresses. What is more, “peer pressure” can make a person who is very rich become poor due to the fact that they always want to buy unnecessary things. For example, a child always wants to buy toys as much as their parents could afford for them although they just play with one or two toys. They want to show their friends that their family is very rich, and everybody will admire them.

Although there are a lot of advantages, I immensely believe that disadvantages will outweigh because just a little amount of people can think maturely when they face to the fact. We need to propose both benefits and drawbacks of “peer pressure” for them to decide more maturely.