Young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, criminal cases have been significantly increasing not only committed by grown-up people but also by adolescent. The main problem occurs regarding whether their crimes should be treated equally or not in the law perspective. Adolescent who committed crimes should have the same punishments with adults in justice. From my standpoint, I agree with this notion that adolescent’s misdeed should not be discriminatory in terms of justice system.

While doing the crime, people tend to know the consequences of their action. Importantly, punishment is necessary to apply for all people, the youth is no exception. Having perpetrators to face the consequences is that they are fully aware of their wrongdoings and not to do the same misdeed in the future. For example, there was a hot topic cases in Indonesia about adolescent 14 years old did murder to a child 11 years old due to the perpetrators want to sell the children’s kidney. Since this is a serious crime, perpetrators should be sentenced with the heavy punishment regardless of their age.

Beside a serious crime committed by adolescent, misdeed that been taken by them also should apply proper punishment. For instance, the petty crimes such as fighting, drink alcohol, robbery or others should be punished with lenient sentences based on their wrong act. Therefore, they are fully aware that petty crimes also have a consequence in legal.

In conclusion, all crimes should be punishable equally without distinguish irrespective of the age of criminal in order to reduce the crime in society for the future by considering the severity of the crime.