Young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Young offenders ought to receive the same treatment as adults. While I can see the young people who commit crimes should be treated, I do not agree that they should be treated as adults.

By punishing many young people who commit crimes is believed to contribute to ensuring justice and equality within society. This is because today, they have enough awareness to understand what actions cause harm to other people and themselves, so they have the responsibility to face the consequences of their actions. Moreover, because of the development of news media, many young people easily approach many news about crimes. This exposure increases their understanding of the legal system and the consequences of criminal behavior. Therefore, they need to be treated like other members of society to ensure that justice is served and equality is maintained.

However, young people should not be treated in the same methods as adults. Because of lack of knowledge about their lives and also negative circumstances such as poverty, lack of education, they are easily drawn to crime to earn money to serve their lives without any awareness. Furthermore, many legal information may be complex to access or not conveyed appropriately to their perceptions. Therefore, instead of treating them like adults, the government should increase their awareness about crimes to ensure they understand the consequences and also provide support systems that address the root causes of these behaviours.

In conclusion, treating young people ensures justice and fairness for all people. However, they easily commit crimes to earn money without any awareness because a lack of knowledge and legal information is too difficult. The government should increase young people’s knowledge instead of treating them as adults.