Young people spend too much money on expensive fashion brands and gadgets these days, many of which are not necessary. To what extent do you agree?

At present advertising often tries to highlight the novelty of the product or services. The reasons for this might include marketing forces, attempts to attract investors, and greater competition. This essay explains these points and explains why this is a positive trend.

Advertising by its nature has to catch the attention of the buyers. The word that we often see is ‘new’; this adjective has been one of the great incentives for clients for a long time. People tend to think that ‘new’ means modern, updated, improved, and of better quality than ‘old’. Furthermore, greater competition forces market players to locate new niches. This search often leads to modifications of the goods so that they can be different from others. Moreover, another driving force can be an investing potential. The investors might view the product as interesting if it has features that are not present on the market and more readily finance the idea.

In my opinion, this trend has more pros than cons. First, it gives the market more variety which is always good for the customer who has a better choice. Second, it promotes more research and development as companies always looking for ways to improve the product. Finally, it contributes to the culture where new ways of consumption and interaction with the product arise. As for the drawbacks, it might mislead the customer by introducing minor, insignificant, or useless changes just for the sake of advertising.

In conclusion, marketing interests and circumstances often force businesses to present their products as ‘new’. Although this approach has certain flaws, the benefits greatly outweigh the disadvantages.