Young people spend too much money on expensive fashion brands and gadgets these days, many of which are not necessary. To what extent do you agree?

Data says that the youth of today spend a majority of their income on expensive fashion brands or gadgets. However, some say that most of their purchases are not necessary. I agree with this statement to a certain extent; this essay will argue that buying gadgets and high-class fashion can prove to be disadvantageous.

To begin with, it is undeniable that gadgets (referring to mass-produced machines like phones or computers) play a crucial role in today’s era of globalization. However, most people only need one phone to fulfill their daily needs, like for communication or social media. Having one gadget should be enough for someone to be able to connect online and effectively communicate with others. Additionally, having multiple devices can cause confusion when trying to reach someone. For example, calling 3 phone numbers one by one trying to reach another person would take more time than calling one number.

That being said, the case is completely different when it comes to clothes. Having only one pair of clothing for everyday activities would cause a lot of problems, possibly even serious health issues. However, that does not justify buying expensive brands of clothes purely just to show off. While it is true that cloth is one of humans’ primary needs, people should not buy expensive clothes just because they want to join a trend. Moreover, popular fashion usually demands more money purely for the brand, and not the quality.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that most young people’s spending habits should be directed to other things rather than expensive clothes or gadgets; that they should only buy them if they really need to.