Young people who commit serious crimes, such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that considering severe crimes that are committed by young people equivalent to ones by adults are unethical. Despite controversial perspectives, I wholeheartedly believe that implementing the same policies for the two age groups are inappropriate.

First, youngsters should not be fully responsible for their crime due to their immaturity in both physical and mental stage. To be specific, young people, especially teenagers, are on their period of continuously development, with tremendous changes occurred, from mindset to behaviors. As a result, young people might not be fully aware of their actions compared to a fully grown man or woman. This could lead to unwanted behaviors from young people, which in certain perspectives might be acceptable and understandable. However, the same path can not be applied for adults, as they are equipped with experience and profound knowledge, which certainly help them to understand exactly the level of their actions. For example, young individuals might be forgiving for misbehaviors against some government officials as courts might not be able to accused them without their proper awareness, whereas the grown ups are likely to be imprisoned for the same interactions.

Another reason for the advocates of the rights of young people is that arresting individuals in such early ages negatively contribute to the loss of the workforces. In detail, one of the important key points for the maintenance of societies are the abundance resource of labor. While being significantly generous to young people committing crimes could help in embracing the loyalty of individuals to the society system, it might also mitigate the fluctuation of the number of future employees, therefore maintaining the overall civilization.

To conclude, treating young criminals the same way with the adults might be unavailable for mentioned reasons above. In contrast, having generous policies might significantly contribute to the sustainable development of the growth path of young individuals and the preservation of work labor, simultaneously.