17. Today the life expectancy of people is much highen than before. Some people think that older people should continute to be involved in the workforce. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the rising average life expectancy, some believe that the workforce age should be extended, to include older people. In my opinion, older workers should not be forced to continue working and must have the right to choose whether to continue or stop their careers.

There are some key explanations behind my opinion. People who earn enough money for a quality life after having worked hard for a long time, may not find the motivation to continue their careers, especially when they don’t have passion for their jobs, just for making a living. This situation may cause a decline in work quality and the company’s spending. Moreover, the industry is becoming more and more competitive, which means employees must adapt to all aspects of modern society, such as technology. It is really hard for a 60-year-old upper worker to compete with a younger counter.

On the other hand, some old people who still have good mental and physical health and who aspire to and love their careers should have the right to follow their jobs. The older they are, the more skill and experience they have. They can pass on their knowledge to the next generation, gain a better understanding of the issues, and promote the company. For instance, in Japan, many people still work hard, even though they are older (65 years old).

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that depending on everyone’s condition, old people should have the right to choose to retire or continue their jobs.