4. If a person is found to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol while driving, they should be banned from driving for life, whether they were involved in an accident or not. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

driving under the influence is a serious crime. if an individual has been found driving while being intoxicated, regardless of if the person has been involved in an accident i believe they need to be punished. though being banned from driving indefinitely might be a bit extreme, the crime does warrant it.

firstly, driving while under the influence puts many lives at risk, not only does this put themselves at risk, it also puts others at risk, in the case of an accident. driving requires a certain amount of alertness to ensure that whoever is in control of the vehicle can circumvent unforeseen incidents such as, a person walking across the road or a car changing lanes suddenly. while intoxicated the ability of the driver to do so gets impaired leading to higher chances of injury if not death. though the crime itself might seem minor the consequences of it are rather appalling. nowadays, with the ever growing population of the world driving has become significantly riskier and being under the influence just increases it.

another reason for the ban is the fact that the person chose to commit the crime willingly after being intoxicated. even if the individual is confident with their driving skills knowingly committing a crime just proves that they lack a understanding of what risks they are taking. This can be seen as naivety but it actually shows that they are unfit to drive. on the off chance that they completely know the consequence of doing so, it shows a complete disregard for human life of both theirs and others. in both cases having such drivers on the roads is more detrimental than good for the general populace.

in conclusion, i believe that driving a car or any other automotive comes with a certain amount of responsibility and choosing not to take on these responsibilities seriously should guarantee the removal of said responsibility, especially if it concerns the lives of people. This way we can ensure a safer travel for all.