A growing population is a big problem in many countries. Should the government provide new homes in the cities or countryside?

Population growth is one of the most pressing issues in many countries as basic commodities such as water, food, and shelter are scarce. The housing needs of the growing population is outweighing the planned housing of many governments.

The city life is a hub economic opportunities with corporate jobs, cafes, cinema etc at the heart of it. If the governments provides new homes within the city, people will benefit from the ever growing economic opportunities in the city such as working in a library or filling in the role of a receptionist at a hotel to meet the needs of the growing population. Secondly, the growing population fills the city with multicultural and diverse people who have come from different parts of the country, hence providing everyone a holistic experience of living.

If the government provides new homes in the countryside to accommodate the growing population, people who live far away from cities will get less exposure to stable incomes and will lose out on chances to get good jobs that are usually in the city. As the countryside has relatively less people, the government’s incentive to invest in high speed public transportation or facilities is low hence people dont get an enriching experience of living. Lastly, the people on the countryside will also lose out on the city culture and living with people from diverse backgrounds.

In a nutshell, the government should make new homes within the city as it will give people the advantage of getting jobs to serve the growing needs of the population and live the full experience of a city life with diverse people around them.