A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Dp you think that the benifits of tourism outweigh it drawbacks?

Tourism is considered as the most important and prevalent money source in many countries. As a result, it can trigger negative effects if it is not controlled properly or outsourcing is irresponsible. In my harm opinion, as it can cause diversity of inconveniences for locals, eco problems, cultural erosion etc., we should manage to do our bit and consider more eco-friendly ways to explore the world. In this essay I will discuss merits and demerits of tourism, and explain why downside is worse, than it seems to be.

To begin with, travelling is wide-spread: industry expand every year, contributing to the economic growth and cultural exchange. As tourists come and use money on wide range of services, such as amusement parks, museums, accommodation with parking lots, catering and medical help, new working opportunities are being created. At first glance, it boosts the economy, while each side get diversity of benefits. For instance, not only we can manage achieving new social connections, skills and experiences, as a visitor, but also improve mental state or enhance personal development through communication. Though, deep looking lead to downside where we can smell a rat.

First and foremost, tourists don’t hold themselves very accountable. Constant high usage of water and electricity leads to restricted access to resources for residents, increase pollution, erosion of ecosystem and traditional values, as local communities often priorities tourist demands and revenue over preserving their cultural heritage. Recent survey depicts, that surprisingly low percent of tourists understand and follow the rule “when in Rome, do as romans do”. It’s obvious that every country has unwritten laws, based on traditions and mentality. Before trip, it’s essentially to know the least of them. For example, in Japan, they have boundaries on tone and volume of voice in public places, prohibition on having tattoos open, or leaving tips. But it’s the most harmless one. Much worse if country fully depends on tourism, so the least ban can affect economy. Economic leakage occurs when the money spent by tourists fails to reach the local economy and instead, benefits large corporations like McDonald’s, which send profits back to their home countries, leaving original host with little financial gain.

To sum up, it’s crucial to be critical and evaluate the authenticity of sustainable tourism what claims to ensure genuine efforts are being made to protect the environment and benefit local communities. It’s vital to consider that every decision, from the destinations we choose to the businesses we support, can have far-reaching consequences. Even seemingly small choices can make a significant difference.