Advertising encourages customers to buy in quantity not in quality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, customers are often subject to the influences of advertisements, being persuaded to make purchases profusely, not qualitatively. In this essay, I will explain my agreement with this statement, and support my view with my viable examples.

Advertisements undoubtedly influence the purchase habits of customers, making them tend to buy in quantity, irrespective of the quality of goods. Many advertisements emphasize promotions such as, “buy one, get one free”, or discounts on bulk purchases. For example, traders of household items encourage customers with the convenience of having more stock at home. Once customers make a bulk purchase on household appliances, then, they are given additional items for free, and no one can guarantee for the quality of the latter goods. Additionally, to attain an influx of customers, markets have to reduce their product costs. Inspired by affordable costs, customers are prone to purchase in larger volumes, prioritizing quantity for the sake of practicality over quality.

Secondly, advertisements often use affordable offers in certain periods to create a sense of urgency. For example, ads that feature “limited-time discounts on bulk purchases” can encourage customers to buy massive quantities quickly, capitalizing on the fear of missing out. This tactic emphasizes the quantity of items consumers can acquire before the offer expires, rather than highlighting the quality of each item. A prime example can be Amazon Prime Day, which is an annual event where Amazon offers significant discounts and deals on a wide range of products exclusively for Prime members. The advertising for Prime Day often includes phrases like “limited-time deals,” “while supplies last,” and “buy more, save more.”

In conclusion, there is evidence that some advertising strategies encourage consumers to buy in quantity, and customers tend to highlight quantity over quality