Advertising that targets children should be banned from our televisions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some hold the view that commercials targeting children should be banned from the presence of our televisions. Personally, I subscribe to this proposal on some grounds, demanding some limitations in the appearance of those ads that are trying to attract the young.

Presenting advertisements aimed at children has become increasingly common these days. On our TVs, one can find plenty of content that mostly urges people, irrespective of their age, to buy certain types of food that trigger overconsumption, including fast food, sweet candies, and chocolate. The more these targeted foods are shown, the more children become obsessed with them, resulting in unhealthy effects.

Furthermore, banning such commercials should be a more logical course of action for some reasons. From an early age, children tend to be more sensitive to external influences. Since TV still remains today’s mainstream media, those young kids can be easily attracted to what they see and hear on it. To be more specific, children do not possess enough cognitive abilities to realize the tactics used in advertising, meaning that they are likely to accept whatever seems positive and enjoyable.

Another possible concern has to do with ethics and traditions in different environments. Advertising that specifically targets the young can be regarded as manipulative to some degree, and companies often use tactics that seem appealing to children’s emotions and desires to sell their products. In my opinion, implementing some limitations on those triggering ads can facilitate potential negative outcomes that are linked to children and their desires and feelings.

In conclusion, considering the likelihood of harmful effects, I believe that restrictions on such advertisements are all for the better.