Advertising that targets children should be banned from our televisions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

TV advertisements have become increasingly common, especially those aimed at young audience. It is often argued that such promotions should not be permitted. Although advertising is an essential part of businesses, I do agree that television ads have a strong influence on children, and should be limited.

One of the key arguments supporting advertisements for kids is that it is a vital tool for businesses in order to promote themselves. The child audience is extremely huge and profitable, which makes it attractive to a lot of companies. It is easier to pursuade kids to buy products, as they tend to be more gullible and care less about the quiality or the price. For instance, when children see a toy they have already seen on TV, they are more likely to buy it right away without considering the relevance of this purchase.

On the contrary, children are way more vulnerable than adults. With the growing amount of advertisements, it is becoming more difficult for parents to control which content their kids consume. As a result, children may be easily pursued by promotions which can be harmful to them. For instance, junk food advertisements usually do not mention the consequences of overconsumption of unhealthy products. If children are not educated about these issues by adults, it can lead to obesity and health problems. This is the reason why I consider such promotions aimed at a young audience on TV not acceptable.

In conclusion, while TV advertisements play a crucial role in attracting customers for every business, I firmly believe that ones targeted at children should rather be limited. Due to the lack of experience and critical thinking, they can misunderstand the messages in such advertisings.