Advertising that targets children should be banned from our televisions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that the government should ban advertising that targets children, for it could have harmful effects on their mental well-being. Others, however, contend that the advertising has several benefits, as it could boost their cognitive development by expanding their understanding of the world. Even though I respect both statements of the argument, I strongly agree with the notion of forbidding advertising that directs at children, believing this not only negatively impacts their mentality but also contributes to a challenge for low-income families.

Firstly, opponents of banning the advertisements suggest that televisions offer valuable education, which is teaching them about the world when their parents are absent from home or unavailable to teach them. For example, In countries like Mongolia, most of the children whose parents work have to spend a day alone and the work shifts often start at 8 in the morning and end at 5 in the evening, which could be more late because of the heavy traffic congestion. While waiting for their parents, there are only televisions that could spend the time with the children and that can introduce them to new ideas and experiences that expand their horizons. Moreover, research shows that childhood experiences significantly influence their future development. Thus, their creativity and knowledge depends on the number of people watching various forms of entertainment.

However, while I feel the need for various methods of learning and spending time for children with busy parents, I believe that televisions also expose children to harmful content. They should find that not all advertisements are educational, and many show unrealistic body standards and unhealthy behaviors. Those negative influences have a detrimental impact on children’s mental health and attitudes.

Moreover, advancement in recent technologies have enhanced the advertisement industry such as realistic scenes even though it is not unreal and 4K resolution, which could exert on their mentality negatively by making them feel bored on what they have and make them buy all the products. Such things could pose challenges for low-earning families in the long run.

Overall, people should think about both healthy and unhealthy sides before showing their treasures on television, for there are so many advertisements flowing on television such as harmful and detrimental contents, and unrealistic products that are impossible to exist in real life. Thus, I advocate that content directing at children should be forbidden.