Advertising that targets children should be banned from our televisions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our technologically vast world, the role of advertisement is irreplaceable. However, its role doesn’t only come with opportunities, but also with its drawbacks. Most of us is familiar with the controversial topic of targeting children in advertisements. Some don’t see any serious problems according to this topic, but some find it extremely disturbing.

Initially, advertisements should be legally checked before the broadcast. Ads are viewed by people of all ages and it shouldn’t contain any adult image or context that can deinfluence children. Advertisement should move towards advocating people and young children instead of targeting them. For example, there was an ad about children clothing and the clothes looked more appropriate for adults. Also the body language and the words that were used was really exposing and disturbing for children.

However, even though this topic has been discussed by local people, no precautions have been taken yet. In this case, the duty lies on parents. Parents must be strict about the exposion of several contexts to their kids. They must be careful of what kind of programme or channel they choose for their kids to watch. Some channels aren’t disturbed with the idea of targeting kids.

Furthermore,many kids don’t have capacity to differenciate the wrong things from good. So it is really dangerous. Also, ads use the topics that are most interesting for children and are successful with the their targetings. For example, it can be about beauty and most young girls gets excited about this. The ads also give their numbers for children to contact them and are able to take kids without the consent of their parents.

In a nutshell, this topic is extremely uncomfortable and dangerous for young kids. Many children have been the victims of targeting ads. In my opinion, several precausions should be taken and this topic deserves more recognition in the sake of kids. I strongly disagree with the idea of targeting and authorities should take this into consideration.