All university students should do some voluntary work to help the local community. To what do you agree or disagree?

It was widely believed that universities should encourage their students to dedicate themselves to some voluntary work in order to help the local people. In this essay, I will elaborate on why I strongly support this perspective.

The primary reason is that voluntary work done by students can bring enormous benefits to the local community. For a start, they can help solve some problems and difficult tasks in the community. Indeed, because of their willingness to work voluntarily, the public authorities need not worry about the cost of carrying out their actions. For example, the students can collect rubbish, take care of trees, and build houses for the poor. Although they receive no salary, their work seems to be surprisingly productive due to their youthful strength and creativity. Moreover, the presence of students in the local community can offer an ideal model to young people. This means that they can spark a love for studying and working in the youngsters. Being attracted by the students, the young can start dreaming that they will enter the university in the future.

Another reason for my agreement is that students can reach an integral maturity through their voluntary work. This maturity doesn’t mean that they acquire some meaningless knowledge, but they develop a sense of responsibility, which is manifested in the desire to serve the needs of other people. While bearing in mind social issues, not only do they learn some skills to deal with, but they also grow in compassion, which helps them connect to others and to the whole society. Furthermore, if wasting time is the most popular temptation for students, then doing voluntary work would be the best way to use time properly and effectively.

In conclusion, I firmly support the idea that students should not miss their chances to do some voluntary work where they live.