Alternative energy resources that use the natural power of the wind, waves and sun are too expensive and complicated to replace coal, oil and gas that we use to power our cities and transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Renewable energy resources such as wind, wave and sun are believed to be too costly and difficult to be used instead of fossil fuels(oil, coal and gas) in order to provide energy for cities and their transportation. I strongly disagree with this opinion, because long term solutions can overcome these problems and we can already see the proofs of change around us.

Perhaps, one of the biggest concern is how to find enough funds to construct power plants. However, these assumptions are not considering the long-term aspects of the research and technology improvement that has been going along over the past few years. These improvements might be mostly thanks to the authorities who understood scientists’ warnings about fossil fuel exhaustion. In fact, all countries now are aware that the fossil fuels will run out eventually and started to invest on building more and more power plants to their cities. This would mean, in near future thanks to these investments, more research will be made and enough money will be spared over time.

Furthermore, we can see that the changes towards the goal of replacing fossil fuels has already begun. Each country is analysing their geographical advantages and building power plants to places where they can easily harness energy from wind, solar or wave. These power plants are expected to reach to an amount they can provide enough energy for cities. Although, with some merit people think this might take a long time before we run out of all resources but the changes has been made so far proves against.

To sum up, replacing fossil fuel completely with natural resources might seem impossible at first. Nevertheless, the current developments and future plans are promising enough to show renewable sources will not fail to supply enough energy after all.