Although it is generally illegal, physical punishment continues in many countries. Some argue that parents should have the right to punish their children in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

Despite being mostly banned, the act of physical punishment is still practiced in many nations, and it is argued that parents should be allowed to punish their children in this way. While I acknowledge that the part played by illegal punishment is, of course, important when it comes to disciplining youths, I disagree with this notion, as it may cause several physical and mental issues.

On the one hand, it is true that there are various reasons why parents should have a right to penalize their children by illegal physical punishment. First of all, physical punishment can be more effective than other forms of penalties. It is true that some children do not respond to different methods like extra chores and verbal warnings, and in this case, it becomes logical to punish children physically in order to deter them from inappropriate behavior. For instance, in the past, it was a normal act to discipline children through physical punishments; as a result, they usually managed to form an appropriate behavior in their kids. Moreover, physical punishment can provide an immediate response. In comparison to alternative punishments, such as time-outs, which may take a long time to be effective, physical correction can teach youths right from wrong instantly. For instance, if a child refuses to listen to a warning about touching something dangerous, a quick tap on the hand may make it clear the severity of their action.

However, despite the reasons mentioned above, physical punishments should not be widely used by parents, since it brings about different severe consequences. The principal reason why this way of discipline should not be practiced by parents has to do with emotional harm. Physical punishment can cause fear and long-term psychological damage, leaving emotional harm on children. For instance, children who are physically punished may feel unsafe and insecure, leading to severe emotional difficulties and trust issues; consequently, such punishment can negatively impact children’s future life, making it difficult to form a healthy relationship with someone. Moreover, physical punishment provides violence as well. Physical correction may teach children that using violence is an acceptable way to solve problems and conflicts. This, in return, may cause children to copy such behavior in their future life. For instance, a child who is hit for doing something wrong might think that it is okay to hit other children when they misbehave.

In conclusion, although it is true that parents should be able to use physical punishment, since it can be more effective than other forms and may provide an instant response to misbehavior, I would argue that such acts of punishment should be prohibited, as it may cause various mental problems and promote violence among children.