Although there is a lot of translation software available, learning a language could still be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Studying a language is essential because it makes communication much easier and more effective, especially in a country where a different language is spoken. Instead of using translation applications all the time, it is much better to study the language and directly use it. Not only does it make the communication process effortless, but it also makes it simpler. When someone travels to Korea, for instance, it is much more preferable to learn basic Korean first and use it to communicate with Koreans, rather than showing the translated version which can cause miscommunication.

Furthermore, such applications require a stable internet connection in order to operate. Therefore, such technology will have no use when no connection is available. In relation to language acquisition, this is the reason why it is essential to know a new language due to the fact that it can be used instantly without having to worry about the internet network. Thus, the conversation can still be done regardless of the Internet network. When traveling to remote villages where internet connection is uncommon, for example, involving previously studied language or dialect will be easier than communicating through applications, which rely mostly on the internet connection.

To sum up all the points, I strongly believe that language acquisition is beneficial despite the existence of translation applications and I have 2 reasons to support my argument. First, it makes the communication process easier and more effective. Also, the language itself can be used immediately with the locals as it does not rely on the Internet, therefore, communication can still be done.