An increasing number of people are changing careers during their working life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development for society?

There has been a growing trend among adults to change jobs while being of employed age. I think that this might be driven by personal mature decisions, and it should be seen as a positive influence on society.

The primary reasons for opting for a different career path can be a consequence of making their own major decisions. For example, in Kazakhstan, when young adults are on the verge of choosing the best career option, they are often less aware of what they are willing to do in the long run, thus, parents are often the ones who force them to study and then work in an undesired field regardless their personal preferences. Therefore, while maturing, adults who were dissatisfied with their earlier career choices tend to switch and work in a brand new area.

In my view, making such decisions are worthwhile for both society and adults themselves, since these people are by far more pleased with what jobs they are involved in. Working in an appealing field does not only make them happier, but also more productive employees or entrepreneurs, whose income grows as a result. This boost in job satisfaction and revenue has a great impact on the economy of the country, since more taxes are being paid.

In conclusion, today changing a career path is growing while still leading working life. This can be caused by the fact that they become more responsible for making better life choices, and I believe that it is a positive trend for the economy and general people’s well-being.