An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is widely acknowledged that plastic surgery has proliferated relentlessly in recent years. In the light of this, more and more individuals opting to undergo surgical operations pursuit of ideal physical appearances has emerged as a general topic of interest. In this answer, I will look at both pros and cons of this tendency before explaining why I lean toward its adverse effects.

It is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that cosmetic surgery should be encouraged. On the individual level, a change in physical appearance, would facilitate people with congenital defects or acquired deformities due to injuries or illnesses, not only boost their self-esteem but also gain greater self-assurance in their daily lives. On the societal level, given that commercial advertising is a driving force behind beauty standards, which is conducive to opinions about what is an image of beauty. By undergoing procedures such as breast augmentation, nose reshaping or liposuction, a large influx of women and girls can feel more confident about themselves when it comes to their appearance.

However, despite the aforementioned benefits, plastic operations may take a toll on patients. There is no denying that all surgeries carry several potential health risks, even lead to life-threatening infections and mental trauma. Another pronounced drawback is that the real value of an individual should be measured by their inside character, not their outside appearance, which gives rise to ethical concerns. For instance, a handful of supermodels and celebrities in the world promote myriad physical features, which is impossible for most ordinary people to follow. Promoting the idea that everyone should be defined by their looks is to promote a false set of values, particularly such narrow and unrealistic definitions of beauty. To this end, natural appearance should be embraced and accepted.

In conclusion, while surgical procedures seem to be good ideas, I would contend that the given setbacks do not make it a worthwhile path.