An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialize. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Whether Internet development is beneficial for communication and socialization is still a controversial debate. While it is believed that Internet users are easily isolated due to the appearance of the Internet, I would contend that the Internet has facilitated people from all over the world to connect together and get closer. Both sides of this issue will be discussed in this essay.

It is widely believed that the use of the Internet leads to the deterioration of face-to-face communication. People find it more convenient and comfortable to chat online with others, thus they tend to excessively and negatively rely on virtual interaction and become reluctant to have face-to-face conversations. In the long run, this situation can lead to the deterioration of communication skill among Internet users which is one of the most essential soft skills in the modern integrated world. Additionally, Internet addicts have the tendency to be trapped in the virtual world and isolate the real life. That each person involved in a dinner table only focuses on their own smart devices rather than talking together is a typical example.

However isolating the Internet may seem, I am strongly convinced that Internet users can get more benefits than disadvantages in terms of communication. Thanks to the development of the Internet, the world now has become a global village where people from every corner are facilitated to connect together, which used to be impossible in the past due to geographical constraints. People sharing the same hobbies or interests can easily build healthy relationships with each other through social media groups. Apart from that, the Internet also makes it possible to stay connected in special circumstances. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic when direct meetings were not allowed, the people-to-people communication was not seriously affected due to online platforms.

In conclusion, despite some negative impacts on the user’s communicating behaviors, the Internet has greatly erased all kinds of distance and allows people from all corners of the world to virtually come together. If Internet users keep a hybrid connection with others and use the Internet for proper purposes and amount, it will be a powerful tool to enhance our quality of life.