An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What can be done to deal with this situation?

Migrating to a developed country in search for better job opportunities is observed as a growing trend among professionals such as doctors and teachers residing in developing countries. This leaves a significant void in the talent pool of the developing nation as well as causes major unemployment crisis in the developed nation.

While the scope of employment and development remains higher in the relatively less advanced countries, people often tend to give in to herd mentality and move to the relatively more advanced countries expecting higher pay. The first class of countries faces shortage of talented professionals and is forced to employ costlier foreign talent to fill offices. The government of these countries should incentivize domestic jobs, make improvements in the working conditions for their employees and resolve their grievances on time. This would enable the domestic professionals to put their faith in their home country and to refrain from moving abroad.

Furthermore, unemployment caused in native professionals of the developed nation is an equally serious issue. Often large multinational companies offer high level management positions to businessmen residing abroad, upsetting the equally qualified domestic candidates. These nations should reserve only a proportion of their annual hires for foreign talent to prevent them from stealing opportunities from the in-house professionals. As a result, citizens of the developed countries face poverty and hunger while the overseas professionals earn hefty salaries that they are not entitled to.

Therefore, active measures need to be taken by the governments of both- developing as well as developed nations in order to avoid shortage of hiring candidates and prevent unemployment caused due to migration of professionals from the former to the latter.