Answering the right question and planning your response In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In many countries, children are getting employed more often. While some would argue that this is a negative situation, I believe that this will positively influence children as they will gain valuable work experience.

On the one hand, getting a job means that children will have less time for studying. That is, children will not be able to focus on education, which might negatively affect their academic performance. For example, as the majority of children in Sudan are working during the school year, this country is considered among the least educated. However, I believe that working at a young age should be regarded as a chance to get practical knowledge for children’s future professions.

On the other hand, it is thought that working gives children an opportunity to get experience. By this I mean, children might supplement their theoretical knowledge gained at school with practical skills learnt at work. Especially if children are working in their future profession, this will provide them with an opportunity to get a high-paid job in the future, as experience is highly valued by employers nowadays. This is why most of the workers in the Google company are those who worked in IT shops when they were under 18. I believe that this school of thought is preferable as it helps children to get a deeper understanding of their profession.

In conclusion, although it is maintained by some that working at a young age can have a negative impact on a person’s academic achievements, I believe that getting employed at the age of under 18 can contribute to children’s future professions by enhancing their working skills needed in the future.