Art classes, such as painting or drawing, are as important for children's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an increasing debate about significance of art skills: painting and drawing, whether they should be included as a school curriculum. While I acknowledge the precious time of graduators and academic pressure from school and institutions, I believe that addition of art courses into curriculum will foster cognitive developments such as creativity and imagination.

Admittedly, as high school years are academically decisive art courses can take more time. Due to the fact that graduators already overloaded with academic pressure such as exams and university, they wouldn’t be grateful for addition of a new subject, which requires critical thinking and creativity. Moreover, there also students who are not interested in art. For instance, if student studies math or other primary subjects for getting into institutions, they would feel exhausted and demotivated from studies, resulting in rejection and negative consequences in future life.

Despite these arguments, I remain convinced that addition of art classes into school curriculum will have positive impact. First and foremost, since drawing and painting entails creativity students will have better cognitive development. Furthermore, these subjects also develop creativity, which allow students view issues from multiple perspectives and make decisions flexibly. On top of that, creativity enables students to think independently causing them to evaluate data critically rather than accept it passively.

In conclusion, although art courses take precious time from graduators and can demotivate students who show little interest in it, I maintain that the cognitive development which provides academic growth, including creativity and imagination shouldn’t be overlooked. Therefore, intellectual development ensures students to think independently and make well-reasoned decisions.