As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The world has been changing. It moves towards the disruption era where everything quickly becomes different by technology innovation. Learning foreign language is what has been impacted by this transformation. Technology can easily translate the source language into targeted language and it makes learning another language seem unimportant. However, there are a few things that make learning language hitherto still pivotal.

There is an important aspect that differentiate between people who use computer translation and people who translate language by themselves, namely their sense of language. The first category, even with the very accuration of translation from their machine, will not realize if there are mistakes in their translation. They will assume that the sentence or passage is absolutely correct because they do not know how to use it. Otherwise, the latter category will have more benefits. Not only do they know how to use words in the right context, but also they know how to make their translation not robotic.

The importance of learning foreign language can be seen if the learner not only uses the language for a while, but more than that. If they use the language in daily activities or in their academic objectives they need to learn language. If they are still forced to use computer translation when talking directly to people, it will make it difficult for them and it leads to strangeness and taking too much time. However, if they have known the language, at least at a beginner’s level, they will be helped by that when they have to use the language in their life suddenly.

Simply speaking, in this era, learning foreign language still has many benefits. It will help their users to be more aware of the context and will have more fluency whenever they have to use it in unexpected moments.