As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Innovation in technology brings ease to many aspects let alone computer translator programs. This generates question: do learning a foreign languages still have benefits? With this condition of questioning study foreign languages, I prefer to argue that studying other languages is not a waste of time for the following reason.

Initially, I would believe that translator will help people to get the meaning of information as soon as possible. With this they can shorten the time, especially when they need to acquire information. For example student who has a paper with various foreign texts will benefit from the translation tool. However, it lacks the various skills in translation such as seeking apt vocabulary and other practical and technical language skills.

Something that needs to be considered is that studying language consumes times and efforts. One has no language capacity and ability if he or she depends on language tools. Grammatical complexities and words may have been grasped only through long and painstaking processes. For instance, to understand English or Arabic will best be mastered merely by doing these two languages through period of times. That is why in academic settings, the standard curriculum asks for several years to finish language courses from grammatical, lexical and structural perspectives. Hence, it is impossible to gain language mastery only by using translator.

In short, although the existence of translator, pursuing courses and studies of languages are far from losing their significance. It is because mastering language cannot be eradicated or displaced by using computer translators.