As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh its disadvantages for environment?

With an increasing number of developing nations, many people tend to buy privately owned vehicles and use them instead of taking public transportation. While this trend offers undeniable benefits to individuals in terms of convenience and mobility, it has adverse effects on the environment and individuals own.

The primary advantage of private car ownership for individuals is its flexibility. People who own car can make use of it anytime, unlike other forms of public transportation such as buses or trains, which often involve waiting and cause daily stress. Additionally, privately owned cars offer more convenience than public vehicles as individuals do their errands easily, whether it is going to the store, picking up dry cleaning, heading to the bank or more.

However, owning a personal car has negative implications to the environment. Most cars run on gasoline, which releases carbon dioxide, a greenhouse gas, into the atmosphere, resulting in air pollution and global warming and exacerbating climate change and its associated impacts.

Furthermore, the increasing number of car ownership in cities cause traffic jams and disrupts the free flow of other forms of public vehicles, which this in turn leads to wasted time and increase stress level among commuters. Therefore, both the environment and individuals are affected by private car usage.

In conclusion, despite its benefits to individuals, private car ownership causes environmental damage involving air pollution and global warming and it also contributes to making urban life challenging.