As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh its disadvantages for environment?

In contemporary society, as the economy develops, more and more individuals have and use their own cars. I largely believe that the negatives for the environment outweigh the positives for them.

Admittedly, people driving their cars perhaps bring convenience to them, particularly in undeveloped areas where there are not many infrastructures and public transportation options. Given that people barely find subway stations, for example, going to workplaces by private cars is better than by buses or subways. Because they have to wait for a long time and go to the stations first, which is a time-consuming and inconvenient way to commute.

However, the potential damages of driving private cars are more obvious. Vehicle emissions might cause a lot of disasters unconsciously. First of all, emissions could lead to global warming and pose a threat to the earth. Increasing temperatures will melt glaciers, which will cause sea level rise, thus leading to devastating floods in some coastal cities. For instance, if people use cars during rush hours, they will not close their engines, which will have a huge impact on the environment. Secondly, using too many cars might also lead to the government investing to track emissions issues instead of other fields. For example, the environmental department could use a lot of money to plant trees to reduce the influence of gas. That will have an impact on the original plans, and they might decrease the budget on these plans, such as protection areas and improving water quality. That may lead to reduced species diversity.

In conclusion, I argue that the cons outweigh the pros significantly. We should reduce the use of cars.