As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?

Throughout the world, languages like English, Spanish and Mandarin are becoming more popular and widely spoken. Communities are afraid that many minority languages are in jeopardy of dying out. Furthermore, some countries have taken steps to save these languages. In this essay, I will outline my opinion of this practice.

First of all, I believe that we should maintain cultural diversity worldwide. As language is one of the most important cultural aspects, protecting it will help to save national traditions and literature. The best way to do that is to support native speakers and education on minority languages.

Some people may argue that there is no need to protect these languages, because it would be easier for everyone to communicate in English or another international language. But we live in the era of inclusivity and I think every nationality has a right to speak their own language, as long as they are interested in it. Examples show that some communities like Maori in New Zealand or Irish people truly want to maintain their language and make it even popular among young people. Unfortunately, sometimes governments prefer not to notice campaigns that people start to ask for support.

In conclusion, I want to say that it is highly important to protect minority languages from extinction, especially when there is a public interest in it. This is the way we will save as many different cultures for future generations as we can. So, that is why education should be the priority in this question.