As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Job Satisfaction plays an important role in workers’ well-being. Nowadays, majority of adults expend a major proportion of their lives at work. So how one feels about his job affects one’s life effectively and Owing to this, satisfying with job is indeed a significant factor in an individual’s happy life. Well, there is only a 20% ratio of people pleased with their job inspite of the several elements that can impress them.

Employees get job satisfaction in a number of ways. Firstly, a person needs to feel that they are doing valued and valuable work, so positive feedback from superiors is very important in this respect. A sense of fulfilment is also encouraged if a worker feels the job is worth doing because it contributes to the society or the economy as a whole. Secondly, when someone feels they are improving or developing their skills through training opportunities, for example, then there is a sense of progression and purpose that rewards a worker. The sense of belonging to a team or a working community also contributes to job satisfaction because colleagues help each other to enjoy their working lives. Satisfaction is also increased by a sense of responsibility and loyalty to a team.

Of course not everyone enjoys their work. Hard economic realities mean that many people have little choice in the kind of job they can get. In some cases an employee is working in a job that suits neither their skills nor their personality. So, the first accepted thing about the work is being the passionate of that field that will lead to a progressive and productive hours and someties may be a promotion due to the talent we have and are using for the particular institute. Some jobs are repetitive and boring, and labour relations may be poor and lead to displeasure and insecurity rather than to job satisfaction.

Conclusively, even though it is unlikely that all workers do feel happy in their work, I think it is not unrealistic to promote more job satisfaction in any job. If the factors identified above are implemented, then any post can be improved and more workers can feel greater degrees of job satisfaction.