As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Newspapers are starting to become obsolete as the popularity of internet rises. This essay strongly agrees with this statement because of the convenience provided by e-papers along with the increasing use of hand-held devices in our everyday lives.

First and foremost, every single piece of information is present and easily accessible online. That is to say, if someone wants to read news or look through a magazine, all they have to do is use their phones or laptops rather than carry a bulky newspaper around all day. Furthermore, the data online is organized by date and time, making a paper from 2018 as easily accessible as one from 2024. For instance, The New York Times posts its newspaper on its website everyday at 7am sharp so it is ready to be read by people around the globe as soon as it is uploaded. Their directory also contains a record of the past 50 years of newspapers, readily available to the people online.

Moreover, mobile phones have become a necessity in this day and age. Each mobile device comes equipped with a number of applications, all of which have direct access to the internet. Hence, the information can be accessed in a number of ways, be it e-papers, audios, or videos. This has completely eradicated the need for physical newspaper copies as most people can simply log on and get their news in whatever form they like. For example, ARY news is a reknowed news agency in Pakistan. Despite not distributing their headlines via newspapers, they remain the #1 news provider in the country simply because of the internet: they post videos , blogs and audios of the information.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that the internet has largely replaced newspapers as most people use their phones and can find information online in a much faster and easier way.