As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

With rapid developments, newspapers have become an old-fashioned means of staying up-to-date, and more people are relying on the Internet. Nowadays, news can be accessed with a click on your mobile phone; however, some elderly people may still find having a physical newspaper more convenient.

There are thousands of news websites and applications on the Internet. Many leading broadcasting and news agencies have developed online versions of their papers. These platforms are more suitable for most people as they can be accessed anytime, anywhere. For example, The Guardian and The New York Times have applications where users can read their daily papers from the comfort of their phones. Therefore, it has become easier for the public to read the news online rather than worrying about getting a newspaper.

Conversely, senior citizens may tend to favor traditional newspapers more. Many older people struggle with using smartphones because they were introduced at a late stage in their lives when learning such fine motor skills can be difficult. Additionally, reading newspapers is an activity that entertains them and is considered an important part of their day. A study conducted in Cambridge revealed that over 90% of the people who buy newspapers are retired. This statistic shows that older people are the target market for newspapers and it’s something they prefer.

In conclusion, newspapers can be considered a thing of the past, as most of their audience now consists of elderly people. Younger people tend to use social media to get their news because it is easier and can be accessed anytime.