Children nowadays are having difficulties in paying attention at school. Causes and solutions?

In recent years,the shortened attention span became an issue for children to concentrate during the class. This issue occurred due to low level of discipline and a variety of distractions, such as mobile notifications and poor-organized sleep schedule. However, with appropriate measures, this problem can be addressed. This essay will introduce possible causes and offer solutions to tackle this issue.

One major reason for lack of concentration is the high dependency on digital devices. Young people are addicted with idea of being connected to digital world for all 24 hours. Thereby, every notification is a signal for them that they get a message or their favorite singer upload new song. With this inadequate obsession, children prone to state wrong priorities and choose scrolling social media over listening to the lecturer. Another possible root is the lack of sleep schedule and heightened stress level. Nowadays, students are under high pressure from school, parents and their expectations about them, therefore, they have to stay late at night in order to complete all assignments on time. The shortage of sleep leads to high cortisol level and tiredness.

To tackle this problem, several practical steps need to be taken by the government and administrators of the educational system. First initiative is to integrate interactive content into learning, for example, games from apps or competitions between students. By using this approach, more individuals will be involved in class, no one will be passive. Furthermore, teachers need to create standards of the size of the homework, thereby relieve students from unnecessary work. This will foster an appearance of free time for sleeping.

To sum up, although students should improve their digital habits, schools need to provide a holistic approach which will help to sustain attention during the lesson.