Children nowadays are having difficulties in paying attention at school. Causes and solutions?

In today’s world, children’s focus is a serious issue besetting many schools and parents. While this problem is a result of lack of rest, parents can alleviate it by constituting limitations and daily routine.

The primary force driving students to not pay attention to classes is the inefficient sleep hours. Nowadays, according to the surveys, only half of 16-17 year old students are getting enough sleep, The opposite is true for pupils from 12- 16. This happens mainly because of too much unplanned homework they have. As well as problems with focus and concentration, lack of sleep can cause irritability and moodiness – all of which can interfere with your child’s ability to learn and interact positively with their peers. One approach to remedy this situation is to create a well-organized daily routine. Once they have a plan, they will know what’s coming next, so they can resolve and be ready for the overcoming study issues. At the end of the day, having a set time may incentivize students for spending their time with family, time for playing and other activities which are beneficial for children to be more successful in school and in daily life.

To mitigate this phenomena there is another duty for parents that is limiting screen time. As too much screen time can be detrimental to a child’s focus, it must be restricted and observed by parents. For example, an Australian university is recommending a limited display use to no more than two hours per day, not including for schoolwork. They are advising this because they discovered that. The blue light from screens can keep the brain by suppressing the hormone that regulates the body’s sleep cycle. Hence, they will have uninterrupted sleeping hours and a good hormone flow, so they can stay alert during class and in other places.

In conclusion, less sleep can lead pupils to losing concentration, and this affects to their behavior, their life and impacts to people around them. However, parents can tackle this issue by observing their children, creating plans for day or per week, setting some limitations that are blessing in disguise. All said and done, with those observations children can show good academic performances at school and good manners in their social life.