Children nowadays are having difficulties in paying attention at school. Causes and solutions?

These days, teachers in many countries have reported a decline in their students’ attention spans, referring to a lack of interest and enthusiasm. Although there are two primary factors that have led to this issue, several effective measures can be taken to address it.

One major reason why pupils have become rather disengaged in school lessons has to do with technology. The number of schoolchildren possessing smartphones has grown rapidly over the past few decades, leading to the popularity of social media apps like Instagram and Snapchat. Because these platforms are addictive, especially when used over a prolonged time, youngsters tend to be more concerned about getting likes, garnering subscribers and becoming popular among their peers than about excelling academically. This, in turn, is likely to promote the idea that success can be achieved instantly via a viral video and that school subjects are not necessary. Moreover, there is an increased inclination towards specialization rather than generalization. Parents, aiming for their children’s future career success, guide them to specific academic paths than focusing on all school subjects. For example, many parents in my country prioritize the mastery of math, English and computer literacy over other subjects, as these serve as a foundation of popular majors, such as science, engineering and IT. Therefore, students tend to discount the importance of art and other unrelated subjects, like biology and history, thereby not paying attention during the class.

Serious as the issue may seem, several solutions can definitely help tackle it. Firstly, parental supervision is critical in limiting phone use and preventing addiction. Although completely prohibiting smartphones can be counterproductive, they can use certain digital tools to control their children’s app use and screen time, while at the same time having instructional talks about the negatives of phones. Consequently, children come to the realization that addiction to this piece of technology is harmful and use their devices more judiciously. Another, albeit a little harsh, solution is to take stricter measures in schools. These institutions, for instance, can implement zero phone use policies and punish those who fail academically more stringently, such as by dismissal and demotion to lower grades.As a result, learners are likely to take their studies more seriously and follow the rules, thus contributing to their academic excellence.

To sum up, insufficient attention paid to school lessons has currently become one of the most concerning problems, caused by the development of social media and changing social preferences. Nevertheless, measures collaboratively taken by parents as well as schools can make a positive difference in resolving the issue.