Children should not have their own mobile phones or smart phones when they are in elementary school( before grade 6). Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for you answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people feel that children who have not reached sixth grade should be prohibited from carrying mobile devices. In my opinion, supervised use is acceptable because smartphones are useful tools.

The primary reason for carrying a telephone is communication, and that is a valid reason for young children to have phones. In particular, children can reach their parents or officials if they are home alone or outside playing and have an emergency. For example, my sister has a ten-year-old son who likes to ride his bicycle in the nearby park, and he carried a cell phone. Last summer, one of his friends fell off his bike and hit his head. My sister’s son was able to use his phone to call an ambulance and my sister. Thanks to his fast response, adults came quickly and the friend, who had a concussion, received the help he needed. Hence, mobile devices are invaluable for contacting others when needed.

An additional reason for my stance is that most mobile devices have apps that can help children study. Granted, children might want to play video games, but parents can select apps that limit access to unwanted programs. Parents can help select apps that fit a child’s interest and skill level to supplement formal education in school. For instance, a young child who likes animals can learn more about math through a program that is set in a jungle and includes problems counting the animals. Accordingly, educational apps can encourage creative thinking and nurture skills that will help in any career in the future.

In conclusion, as long as they are monitored, children should be allowed to carry mobile devices before they reach sixth grade.