Companies should provide sports facilities for local community. To what extent do you agree?

In recent years, it has been less ubiquitous for people to use bicycles as a mode of transport despite its positive impacts on wellness and the environment. This essay attempts to shed light on the rationales behind this phenomenon before outlining some viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it.

While exploring the profound underlying reasons for this tendency, shifting life focus and lack of dedicated cycle lanes are the noteworthy factors. Regarding the former subject, technological advancements, especially artificial intelligence, have catalyzed a marked change in the expectations for individuals’ performance, as the study revealed the increased competitive rate in the job market of over 200 percent in the first quarter of 2023. This influence creates a stronger need for individuals to strengthen their abilities, leading them to focus more on work and study. This explains their choices of time-efficient travel transport rather than bicycles. Another rationale is that many metropolises are designed with longer roadways between destinations, potentially not being bicycle-friendly. However, dedicated bike lanes, are limited, and considered unsafe for people to cycle. Therefore, this declining cycling habit not only prevents people from healthy habits but also a chance to save toxic emissions to the environment.

However, I firmly believe some initiatives undertaken by the government can mitigate this concerning issue. One crucial step is to launch education and awareness campaigns to highlight the great benefits of cycling culture. Another approach is to provide facilities for the local community to motivate this healthy habit. This model is well-adopted in Japan, as over 150 municipalities have introduced bicycle-sharing services for the community. The second approach is that the governance bodies could invest in more infrastructure for bike routes that do not affect the traffic lanes. This construction provides a safer, more convenient space for cyclists.

In conclusion, while there are many factors as to why people use bicycles less as a form of transport, including evolving lifestyles and limitations in cycling infrastructure, appropriate initiatives can be effectively implemented to address this alarming phenomenon.