Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong. Why are universities becoming more competitive? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, it is an irrefutable evidence that a majority of young people want to pursue higher education. Simultaneously, gaining admission into university has become increasingly challenging due to the higher number of applicants and the fact that a window of possibilities to study in a better environment and acquire as many grants as possible. Although healthy rivalry promotes positive development, hidden intentions behind these harsh competitions can have negative consequences.

On the one hand, competitions among the colleges involves various aspects such as global ranking, types of research done or job replacements. This is often driven under constant pressure from educational authorities. As a result, institutions aim to acquire as many grants as possible, often using the volume of money to boost research. For example, many universities accepted subsidy for academic, training program or development of infrastructure material facilities by grants to improve the best institutions.

From my perspective, if sole intention is advanced improvement of students’ knowledge and making the community a better place to live, it is completely beneficial. For instance, some universities have established R&D activities to set good examples for other institutions. Similarly, strong competition among reputable universities help the candidates achieve higher employability. Nevertheless, some institutions are losing goals and lowering their standards for the sake of making profits and increasing enrollments perilously. To clarify, if institutions resort to selling their seats to any individual, the young generations will be easily terminated and sunk into darkness.

In conclusion, strong competition among universities fosters innovation and benefits the potential learners. However, it is crucial to prioritize integrity over profit motives. By striking a balance between competitiveness and ethical standards, universities will play a pivotal role in advancing knowledge and serving communities globally