"Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion."

Some people think that it is easy for university graduates to secure good jobs, while others anticipate that experience and soft skills are crucial. In my opinion, the former is relevant for acquiring academic jobs, while the latter one is required to get hired to a management or business-related position.

On the one hand, completing university education keeps a candidate abreast of current knowledge and a step ahead among the peers. Furthermore, an undergraduate degree or above is vital for positions that demand academic rigor, such as scientists, doctors, engineers, and lawyers. It offers various skills, which are essential for think-tanks, for instance academic knowledge, critical thinking and research skills. Not only are they fit for day-to-day tasks, but they play a pivotal role in bringing new ideas, conducting cutting-edge research, and reasoning on a scientific basis.

On the other hand, candidates with experience and soft skills are advantageous for administrative or business agencies. For example, most of the advertising agencies and development organizations rely on people with good interpersonal skills, which can only be acquired from previous experience of interacting with and handling a wide range of clients. In addition, government staff – particularly the administrators, need extensive skillfulness to deal with a variety of people and stakeholders. Such abilities are founded on years of experience, and just a higher degree has little to contribute to it.

In conclusion, I think that securing a good job requires relevant background specific to the career, and a prior experience of working in the related sector. To put it simply, an academic position would require a formal higher degree, whilst experience and skill may be vital for other types of jobs.