Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to a phenomenon called globalization, countries are becoming more and more similar. This is because, nowadays, people are buying the same products no matter the country you are in. The position of some people is that sharing these common products with other countries may be beneficial, but we have to consider the consequences of globalization, like the loss of culture, not to mention the overpricing of international brands.

Loss of culture and diversity are a direct consequence of countries having the same products. As matter of fact, even when international products are considerably more expensive, because of the relocation, people have to consume from foreign companies, which it’s not beneficial for locals. Once my dad told me that years ago he used to buy traditional coffee with milk, downtown and now all he can find is Starbucks coffee.

The overpricing of products is another problem we have to face as a consequence of globalization. Statistics show a rise of 35% in the cost of daily products and services offered by global companies. In my country there are some areas where customs and services are much more expensive, these places are usually the ones with the most similarities with global cities.

It is my belief that globalization isn’t worth when it means losing identity by putting apart local shops and the rise of the cost of life in certain areas of a city.