countries with long average working hours are economically more successful than those countries which do not work long hours.to what extent do you agree or disagree

There is an opinion that countries in which people spend more time working often earn a greater economic advantage over others that have shorter average working hours. From my perspective, although spending a long period at work helps countries gain better economic achievement, there are some other downsides to the workforce in a long term. In addition, other aspects are also more beneficial than working time.

It is undeniable that countries benefit from their dedicated workforce in working and producing products, which results in higher productivity. Take Japan as an example; its labor is known for dedication as they often work ten to twelve hours a day and does not retire until the age of 70 to 80, so Japan is one of the countries with high Gross Domestic Product. In addition, several occupations require round-the-clock working demand with the 24/7 appearance of experts observing to ensure the smoothness of the task.

Nevertheless, working labourers are affected badly when they spend excessive time at workplaces. Some research shows that people often encounter mental and physical health problems, including burnout, stress, and even serious diseases from the lack of resting time. In addition, in the long term, the labor force tends to lose their passion and inspiration, leading to lower quality of work and even the resignation of skilled labourers. An obvious example is India, one of the most populous countries in the world with a large amount of workforce, is still struggling with developing the economy.

In conclusion, despite the fact that the more working time, the higher productivity the countries have, I believe that there are many bad effects on the labour force when they spend too much time working, which is considered to diminish the economy of the countries.